top of page

Social Networking for the Win!

Most people in my circle use social media platforms for exactly what the name implies: to post media socially, in other words: to post photos or videos of their lives to their wider digital social network. I have a handful of friends that use social media to send out interesting links, articles, or career-related information, and after the November elections, I also have (more than) a few friends that have created an e-platform to voice their political thoughts, discontent or other actions.

I decided to break from the larger norm, and try to use my social media network more as a network and less as a photo essay of my personal life. Going back to the original "social network" root, I put messages out asking for help gaining contacts into certain areas of business where I do not have any expertise. I put messages out asking to further my knowledge of areas. I put messages out to spread word of my upcoming events.

And the response has been more than I could have hoped for.

Friends are texting me with follow-up information and contacts, others are sharing my posts and furthering my networks across the USA, others are jumping in to help with marketing, website editing or other research tasks on my immediate needs list. I knew/hoped that friends and families were supportive of my endeavor to start a school, I knew they would cheerlead my efforts, but I did not know that so many would actually get into the weeds with me and help work out details, promote events, get other friends involved, and really *show* me how much they believe in my ideas. It's humbling, it's rewarding, but mostly it's motivating. To see people willing to get their hands dirty with me, shows me that they really believe in the idea of a new style of education, and its place in the future. It shows me they want my model to succeed, and that they are willing to help get it there.

I remain fully determined to see this idea through to it's fruition and beyond, and thank you all for your support in getting me through these days when the idea is still amorphous and not formed with full detail. I will continue to utilize social media in order to garner support, enlist volunteers, get feedback, and stay motivated!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

NEWSLETTER

Sign-up to find out about news and free events.

bottom of page